Return To The Capital (September 10th)

It doesn’t feel like that long a time since I wrote ‘Flee The Capital’, but 4 months have passed almost to the day.

September 10th is going to be a date I remember. It helps that it’s on a t-shirt, but it marks the day I left for university to start the next stage of my life and the day I saw Billy Joel live. Aside from it being hosted in the legendary Wembley Stadium, it was unlike any other act I’ve ever seen. I felt complete having left. I heard everything I wanted to hear, and am safe in the knowledge that Billy still has his voice and sense of humour.

billyjoel
Show may include Elton John parodies and British anthems – said no warning label.

The date has felt like an ‘end-date’ more than a new beginning, but I suppose there isn’t much between the two. A lot has happened this year, but I think this is like starting over again. Man on a mission style, you know? I’m in a new area, with nobody I know, starting a course that has no definite bearing. I don’t think I would change any of it though. Sink or swim, right?

It did cross my mind that I did this just under a year ago for work, and it drove me crazy. Not all the way round crazy, but enough that some madness stuck and is part of who I am (blegh…). Going into a mad situation mad sounds logical to me. I’m not nervous. I suppose if I had to say I am anything, I guess it would be that I am impatient for things to start happening.

I do have several advantages over the people I’ll be living with. Firstly, I’ve 6 years of living away from home dependent on my own income. Secondly, I don’t have the drinking sensibilities of an 18 year old. On top of this, I appear to be one of the only people in the entire building, so I will meet people as they arrive over the next two days. In saying this, I’m sure there are some disadvantages to be considered – such as the few years age gap and that they will be all coming from similar situations compared to me that will give them instant common ground.

14274268_1107652979269760_1994710135_o
The new digs. Oddly poignant moment to capture on screen for this shot.

Checking the time, it’s almost 6am. I stayed up after the gig to get everything unpacked and get the room feeling like home. With all of the furniture being built-in, I won’t be able to succumb to my usual habit of moving everything every so many months and need to get used to a state of permanence for the next 9 months or so. It’s all finally done. Tomorrow will be food shopping, local reconnaissance and scheduling fresher events. The latter feels weird to be doing without other people I know around. Oh well.

I need some sleep. With this, I’m putting the best foot forward in returning to the blogging community.

 

Listening To: Back in Black – AC/DC

acdc_back_in_black

Image Source: Google Images, Own Photos

For More, Follow on Twitter or Facebook:

Twitter: Nobody Musings (@ajexmi)

Facebook: Nobody Musings (facebook)

One thought on “Return To The Capital (September 10th)”

Leave a Reply

