Tunes and Tracks (17/04/2016)

I’ve noticed a few trends in my pursuit of new music. Sometimes it’s a discovery/rediscovery of an artist I like/liked. Sometimes it’s a cover of a song that makes it really novel. Whatever it is, it either passes like a phase, or falls into the rest of my collection to be played whenever shuffle settings allow, rather than be a starting point when I go out and put the headphones on.

So I thought I would share the songs that I’ve been listening to a lot over the last week or so. Firstly, it will be interesting to chronicle what I was listening to at a given time in the future, and secondly because I recommend giving each a listen if you aren’t familiar with them. As much as I wanted to call this a playlist, it really isn’t because the songs don’t really work together. With the exception of the Counting Crows track and Paper Moon cover, it’s on the rock side of things (with a little anime flare), and I’ve included links in the titles.

So, in no particular order…

Why Don’t You Get A Job – The Offspring

I love this song, and I just wish I heard it earlier in life. I think it could have likely talked me out of a bad relationship far sooner! Punk and Ska bands really do have a way of addressing negative issues with clever rhymes and great beats! Get ya reggae vibes here (and lose that bitch/dick). I really ought to get a job, thinking about it….

 

All Bad Things – Motley Crue

I heard this, and saw the video, only about 2 weeks ago. I don’t have a clue how it evaded me for so long, given how much I love Motley Crue. Still gives me chills to think this is the last song they ever put out together, and seeing the history of the band in montage is cool.

 

Run – Sick Puppies

This song is really growing on me, and I don’t really understand why. You could say the lyrics are relatable, but I’m not entirely sure that’s all it is. I think there’s something in the beat that is has a ‘driving’ effect, coupled with really smooth but powerful vocals. Worth a listen, and quite a contrast to the usual Sick Puppies sound.

 

Rise – Sixx:A.M.

Yeah, this isn’t the most recent single for the upcoming album, but this one has stuck with me as a musical motivator more than ‘You Have Come to the Right Place‘ or ‘Prayers for the Damned.’ It’s exciting hearing where Sixx:A.M. are exploring musically, moving on from Modern Vintage (which was 70s pop inspired). So much talent in the trio, would recommend listening to the aforementioned tracks as well as checking out the back catalog.

 

Coz I Luv You – Slade

I actually stumbled onto Slade when I was looking into The Jam for a previous post (see here) – which reminded me that besides ‘Merry Xmas Everybody‘ I didn’t know anything by them (Fun Fact: I will not acknowledge that it’s Christmas until I have heard this song somewhere at least once). This is a track I had in fact heard before, and now I know what it is I keep playing it!

 

7Seven – FLOW x GRANRODEO

So this is the end theme to the anime 7 Deadly Sins (it’s on Netflix, check it out) and it’s so catchy. I have been blasting this to try and get some energy going to do anything. It’s been fairly effective, but doing anything slowly whilst it’s playing just feels wrong! Maybe it’s just me, but it’s on here all the same.

 

Not Strong Enough – Apocalyptica ft. Brent Smith (of Shinedown)

This is just beautiful. I may not be as big a fan of Shinedown as I was when I was 16, but the combination of the melodic Apocalyptica with Shinedown’s vocalist gets me right in the feels (similarly for ‘I Don’t Care’ with Adam Gontier of Three Days Grace).

 

Paper Moon – Tommy Heavenly6 (AmaLee & DJ-Jo cover)

Another anime entry, this is the second opening theme to Soul Eater. However, Amalee and DJ-Jo have remixed it and covered it in English, and it sounds pretty cool. Nothing appears to have been lost in translation, and Amalee has pipes! If you like this, it’s worth checking out other covers she’s done.

 

Mrs Potter’s Lullaby – Counting Crows

‘If dreams are like movies, then memories are films about ghosts.’

I really like this song. It’s been consistently on playlists since Christmas when I got the Greatest Hits album. I don’t know if it’s possible to not like this. I don’t fully understand it, but I don’t care. It’s a dream like song that just resonates with me. A real gem.

 

Don’t Let Me Down Gently – Reel Big Fish

Reel Big Fish are the band that got me into Ska-Punk. For the friends of mine that are bigger fans, I don’t care if you don’t like Candy Coated Fury. It’s a solid album that won’t fail to pick you up. Plus, lyrically, it’s hilarious. I highly recommend it. Just listen, I haven’t really got anything to say that the music doesn’t say for itself!

*I Know You Too Well To Like You Anymore will also hold a special place in my heart, also worth listening to with the amusing animated video: here.

 

Image Source: Google Images

For more, follow me @ajexmi (Nobody Musings)

Twitterhttps://twitter.com/ajexmi

Facebookwww.facebook.com/NobodyMusings

1 thought on “Tunes and Tracks (17/04/2016)”

Leave a Reply

