You Have Come to the Right Place

If you’re the last on Earth
Feel like you’re damned or cursed
You have come to the right place
And if you have lost yourself
You can escape the hell
You have come to the right place

The lyrics above are from the latest Sixx:A.M. single, ‘You Have Come to the Right Place.

Whenever I’m writing an entry here, the thing that usually sets everything in motion is music. There will be a particular track that just puts all the pieces in place. Maybe the chorus/title just gets your mind thinking along the path that makes you think ‘Shit, I need to start writing now.’ Sometimes it’s just a a beat that’s in time with the rhythm of your thoughts.

I have just finished a chapter in the story I’m writing and I looked at the clock. It’s 2.30am…  I am starting to see a trend in when inspiration actually strikes (see my post: Heroes, and Writing in the (2nd) Wind) and I think I may just have to accept that I think better at night, when the world is sleeping (well, not the whole world but my small part of it). I guess dreams seep into my conscious thoughts – and that’s when magic happens.

I am aware that artists get their ‘buzz‘ from different sources, but I’m starting to think that mine is depravity. If I starve my body for a little while, then the line between reality and make believe fades enough for me to play in both parks. Putting aside the fact that this isn’t particularly healthy common practice, I know it’s a right place and right time deal. I was pulling my hair out (literally) about not being able to find the words I needed to continue my story. I was bummed out about it to the extent I didn’t really want to write a blog post at all. I gave up.

I sat and played Kingdom Hearts for more or less 7 straight hours, then watched a couple of Sixx:A.M. interviews (seriously rock fans, these guys are amazing, and you should check them out if you haven’t already). This led to YouTube auto-loading their songs whilst I struggled with how to continue where I had left off on Word (guilt and frustration had drawn me back to looking at it). Then, whilst the songs played through, my typing gained momentum. Before I knew it, I had typed the closing sentence of the first big event of the story. This is when I got to thinking about where this inspiration came from and why. This is when ‘You Have Come to the Right Place’ was playing – and  when I realised, I had to laugh.

So I now understand better how to get to the ‘state of Me‘ that really has the ideas, and I have learned that sometimes you need to just let go to get to where you need to be. Now I just need to investigate how to be the most efficient. In all honesty, I know I should be going to bed (it’s 3:12am as I am typing this) but I’ve woken up a part of me that lives for the graveyard shift. I have finally got to where I need to be and I want to get as much as I can out and recorded. The sun rising will be symbolic of a new day’s worth of problems and obstacles, so why would I want to waste the dark hours when I can play God with my own universe?

Image Source: Google Images

For more, follow me @ajexmi (Nobody Musings)

Twitterhttps://twitter.com/ajexmi

Facebookwww.facebook.com/NobodyMusings

 

 

Leave a Reply

