Liebster Award

liebster-award-main

I have to say a massive thank you to Diksha from A Writer’s Cauldron for this nomination for a Liebster Award. Having only joined the blogging community very recently, it’s heart-warming to have made such an impression through simply sharing a love of writing. It is with great honour that I accept this. Whatever has justified the praise, I will endeavor to continue!

The Liebster Award is not a real award. It’s just a Blogger’s way of telling you that they like your Blog and it’s more of a thumbs-up than anything else. It’s a way for older, experienced Bloggers to encourage and motivate new Bloggers. The word ‘Liebster’ literally means sweetest/ lovely/ endearing/ welcome in German. So basically, if someone nominates you and you accept the award (completely your choice to accept or not), you have to answer the questions said Blogger asks you and then nominate a few others and ask them some questions too.

So let’s roll out some Q & A, shall we?

1. What is your favorite childhood memory?

I know this may be pushing the boundary on the ‘childhood’ era, but I would have to say it was when I was about 15. I was in boarding school, and a few of us had recently discovered a way of getting onto the roof of the house dorms – we’d also recently picked up a smoking habit… These development nicely coincided nicely, and once or twice a week, somewhere between 11-12pm after all the teachers and tutors had left or gone to sleep, we’d sneak onto the roof with a pack of cigarettes to share (sometimes with a drink) and we’d just watch the sky and smoke.

It turned out, for all of us in the end, that this was a place in which we could let go of all the bravado that went into living in a school, and all the other crap we each had going on, so we could just have a normal conversation and indulge in a little rebellion where no one would find us. I remember the very last time we all went up there being a moment where nothing else mattered – things just seemed to make sense.

2. Which is the one place in the world that you’d like to visit (or revisit)?

I have always wanted to visit Venice, Italy. There’s something totally fantastic about a city on the water, with it’s old architecture, the gondolas…. everything. I’ve actually had a couple of dreams about it, despite never having been. I tried writing a story based in my dream-version of Venice. I found that dreams, details in particular, are a little to fleeting, and often can’t compete with the real deal.

3. What is your favorite part of blogging?

My favourite part of blogging is definitely getting engrossed in the subject matter. Whether it’s about music, ambitions, or experiences I can’t get over how sometimes as I type I become ‘conscious‘ and just watch as words appear on the screen in front of me, chasing the thought genesis. I always thought I would appreciate the effect my work would have on other people more – but much like a good story, the pleasure is in the journey rather than the destination alone.

4. Introvert or extrovert? (Or ambivert? Hehe!)

I’ve naturally been an introvert, and I struggled a little bit because of it growing up I think. In my late teens I decided that you can do whatever you want and be whoever you want. I didn’t want to be isolated with how I think and feel, so I started (and still do) make a conscious effort to be an open book – kind of a like it or lump it deal, savvy? (NOTE: Side effects of ‘manual personality moderation‘ may induce severe weirdness – please seek medical assistance if this persists for more than four consecutive hours)

5. Which is the first book you remember reading? (No textbooks!)

This is actually really tricky, as (if reports given to me are accurate) I actually started reading at very young age. I learned with the Mr. Men books, and I’m pretty sure my folks still have the complete collection stored away somewhere. As for the first memory of reading, it’s a blur as I did read a lot – the first proper book I remember actually locking myself away with was Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – I must have been around 7 or 8 years old at the time. If memory serves, I think I actually read it twice I was that impressed with it at the time!

6. The biggest risk you’ve ever taken in your life?

I think this is safely my decision to move to London. I moved in November last year away from family who had always been fairly close, and leaving pretty much all of my friends behind in the hopes of figuring out who I am, what I want to do and living up my 20’s. Young, single and moving to London sounded like an idealistic ad, and I wasn’t happy with where I was professionally and emotionally before. It has been a stressful change to process, but I’m getting there!

7. One person you find inspiring and why?

I have 3 influences in my life, but I’m going to only talk about 1 as he has inspired me the most in all of my creative outlets – which is pretty relevant here, right?

Musician, Author, Photographer, Radio Host, Father, Husband and fellow Journal Keeper – Nikki Sixx. This man has been a part of my life since around 2009 when I first heard Motley Crue’s Shout at the Devil album and lost myself in the pages of The Heroin Diaries: A Year in the Life of a Shattered Rockstar. Since then I’ve read his follow-up (This Is Gonna Hurt); completely invested in the creative genius that is Sixx: AM; I listen to Sixx Sense and watch any interview I come across online. Everything about his story, from his darker days to his modern day success and creative freedom inspire me to really chase dreams and turn them into reality.

Okay – We’re gonna move on to the next question, because this tap really doesn’t shut off when it’s really opened up!

8. Do you have any phobias? 

I always thought I had a real fear of failure and life-long mediocrity. I still kinda do, but for what it’s worth I wish I had simpler fears!

9. Ebooks or paperbacks?

Paperbacks, every time. I like physically owning something, especially if I’ve paid for it. Each book, or CD or DVD form a part of a collection that really says something about you and your tastes – it also leaves a great trail from your literary/musical journey through the years.

10. One thing you love about yourself?

Oh NOW we want to identify a self-depricating issue?

Jokes aside, I’m not very good at these kind of questions. I guess if we’re going with right here and now, I really dig that I’ve got a second side to me – not in the psycho-killer way, but more like a hidden reservoir of ambition, intuition and drive. I’m working on how to collaborate with ‘other me’ – so far he only really makes an appearance when inebriated or sleep-deprived.

(Spoiler: We’re now in counseling, and have decided to give this thing a try – we are currently planning a weekend away).

PS: A simpler answer is probably my personal brand of humor – not everyone gets it.

 

Again, massive thanks to Diksha for her kind words on my contributions so far, and to my own nominees who’ve made an impression on me (see below). I would recommend checking these writers out, because it’s seriously worth the time:

It goes without saying: Check out Diksha’s work @ A Writer’s Cauldron – she’s already been given this award.

SophiegDonnelly

Sophie knows what’s going on – she get’s straight to the point!

This Battered Suitcase

If you need to pluck up the confidence to face something, try something, or especially go somewhere new, hit this blog up – really insightful stuff.

These are the rules :

* Display an image of the award on your blog (Google it, or make your own)
* Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog.
* Answer the 11 questions that are provided by the person who nominated you.
* Nominate other bloggers to receive the award.
* Create 10 questions for these nominees to answer.
* Inform those people who are now nominated for the Liebster Award, and provide a link to your post so they can learn more about it.
* List these rules on your blog post, so your nominees can find them.

  1. What inspired you to take the first step into the blogging community?
  2. Is there any one post or blogger that stands out in general from all that you have read or written yourself?
  3. If there was a book about your life (and it wasn’t under the same name as your current blog), what would it be, and what would be said in the blurb/summary?
  4. Who’s your greatest influential figure and why?
  5. Someone tells you they want to start writing a blog themselves, but need some advice on how to start – what do you tell them?
  6. If you could choose one place to live for the rest of your life, money being no problem, where would it be?
  7. If you could travel back or forward in time to any one time or place, when/where would it be and why?
  8. If you have a pet – imagine they could say something about you when you’re big and famous. What would they say? If you don’t have a pet, what would you choose to have, and what would they say?
  9. What’s your favourite book and why?
  10. You have 24 hours to live, and all the resource bar time and the ability to stop yourself dying (cut out your loopholes there didn’t I) you could need at disposal – what do you do?

 

For more, follow me @ajexmi (Nobody Musings)

Twitterhttps://twitter.com/ajexmi

Facebookwww.facebook.com/NobodyMusings

1 thought on “Liebster Award”

  1. Really great post! And Goblet of Fire is my favorite Harry Potter book! And I completely agree that bit about writing on the basis of a dream is kind of tricky. But dreams are such a great source of inspiration! They create the mood if nothing else!
    Really great knowing all this about you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

