Scribbles and Scrawls, Upon The Wall

I’m used to voices in my head posing a plurality when addressing my singular self in a journal – however, I’m still adjusting to the plurality of this online body. I’m like ‘Yo, inner demons, where’d you go? This is suddenly an even playing field!’

Don’t get me wrong, you aren’t reading a psycho’s literary litter, or a broken man’s cry for help – the demons I refer to and I are on the same side. Well, mostly. If they are like my mind’s offspring there’s bound to be a rebellious break-out once in awhile, right? The trouble, it seems, with demon nature is their hereditary fear of the light- a fight-or-flight reaction to being identified. The point is, I know they’re there and you have nothing to worry about.

I think that what I’m going to do is segregate my entries from here on. Based on what I have seen creatively, in day-to-day experiences, and in progressive stories I think that a focus is really key to the life of a blog. However, I don’t just want to tell the world about my day. I want to share some original work like short stories, reviews of new music or just plain reasoning why you need to try something! I’ve had a few people come back to me through social media to say some really positive, encouraging things about my content thus far, and I just want to build on sharing interesting thoughts and opinions with each day.

One piece of advice I would offer to anyone wanting to write for an audience, whatever medium it is, is to look around and see what’s going on. You want to write a story? Who is your primary audience going to be? Who is already succeeding at what you want to do and what can you learn from them?  We’ve all heard the phrase ‘history repeats itself’, but the reason that it does tends to be from us not assessing all of the information we have at our disposal to learn and move forward – breaking the cycle. If you don’t know where you’re going or what you want to write about, look to your influences and write more. I have found a lack of focus isn’t necessarily to with lack of a subject, but more to do with having multiple subjects jumbled together. Think of each idea like pieces to a puzzle: start with the edges; then the easily definable pieces; and the rest falls into place.

I’ve said it before, and I will say it again (for my own sake, if no one else’s): Ignorance should never be an excuse. This also refers to the toxic reasoning for anyone not trying something ‘What if I fail?’ or ‘It won’t amount to anything‘. You don’t know this, until you have actually tried it, which is how we learned to walk, to talk, and to put pen to paper and discover what we CAN do. I don’t think I need to make too finer point about how none of these basic skills we have now mastered did not work out on the first, second or third attempts.

You get love for it, you get hate for it. You get nothing if you wait for it” – Hamilton to Burr, Hamilton

Image Source: Google Images

For more, follow me @ajexmi (Nobody Musings)

Twitterhttps://twitter.com/ajexmi

Facebookwww.facebook.com/NobodyMusings

 

 

1 thought on “Scribbles and Scrawls, Upon The Wall”

  1. That’s a really article! And I agree with you that though we do need to have a clear vision about what we’re writing, we must never shy away from it just for the fear of failure. Unless we try, we’ll never find out. Really beautiful words and really wonderful advice!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

